Skip to main content

MoDOT Transportation Library: New to the Library?

The Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) Transportation Library partners with the University of Missouri-Columbia and the Missouri State Library to provide transportation-related collection resources and research services for MoDOT staff.

Getting Started

Keeping Up in Your Field

You can keep up with the newly published research in your field of interest using a couple of methods.

With search alerts, you can set up an alert in a database or other resource so that you are notified via email or RSS feed when new items which match your search terms become available.

With journal alerts, you can set up an alert so that you are notified via email or an RSS feed when new issues are available. In most cases, this feature is available on the journal's home page.

About RSS feeds

RSS feeds are content listings published by a website. When you subscribe to a feed, new content is automatically downloaded from the website, so the feed is always up-to-date. In order to view or subscribe to the RSS feed, you will need to download software or app or access it via your web browser (via an add-on, extension or plug-in). There are many popular RSS feed readers for both the PC and the Mac. For further information, see RSS 101 for Beginners.

Search Alerts - Example

TRID Database

1. Perform a search.
2. Click on the RSS icon in the bar above the search results.
3. If you have an RSS feed reader configured, a box should pop up asking you to subscribe.
4. You may wish to edit the name of the feed from the default and edit the properties (change frequency)

EBSCO Databases

View video on how to create a search alert

Journal Alerts - Examples

ASCE Journals

1. Select a journal title
2. On the journal home page, under Personalize, select Email Alerts.
3. Create a free ASCE profile account (or sign in if you already have one).
4. Select the alert frequency (daily, weekly, monthly)
5. Click the Submit button.

Roads & Bridges

1. Click on RSS symbol

2. Click Subscribe button.
3. If you have an RSS feed reader configured, a box should pop up asking you to subscribe.
4. You may wish to edit the name of the feed from the default and edit the properties (change frequency)

JournalTOCs

JournalTOCs is a free service which tracks table of contents for over 29,000 scholarly journals from over 2,800 publishers. It only provides TOC for the most recent issue (so no archived issues are available). One of its advantages is that you can set up an alert for multiple journal titles using one tool.

1. Login or register for a free account.
2. Search for a journal title in the database.
3. To subscribe to an RSS feed for a title, click on the RSS feed icon.
4. To follow a journal, check mark the Follow box. An individual user can follow up to 30 journals. In your profile settings, you can select "Email Alerts On" and select a email frequency for your alert.

Topical Alerts - Example

TRB Alerts

1. Select a mode or function.
2. If you have an RSS feed reader configured, a box should pop up asking you to subscribe.
3. You may wish to edit the name of the feed from the default and edit the properties (change frequency)

Library Card Application

You will need a Missouri State Library card to access Missouri State Library databases, request a book using the MOBIUS catalog or to request an item via interlibrary loan. If you do not have one, you can apply:

Library Card Application

 

Questions? Contact Missouri State Library Reference Services Division at libref@sos.mo.gov or (573) 751-3615.

Databases

TRID Database

See handouts or view TRB webinar.