Skip to main content

Environmental Resources: Get Started

Environmental Resources - General


This guide provides information about environmental resources available at MnDOT and some free resources outside MnDOT. It is organized by type: environmental impact statements (EIS), books, periodicals, databases, and MnDOT historical information.

Databases with Environmental Information at MnDOT

Academic Search Premier contains full text for more than 4,600 journals.

MasterFILE™ Premier  (Interactive Tutorial) contains full text for about 1,700 periodicals and 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.

ASCE Library contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, e-books, and standards.

ASTM DOT Compass Portal (link via iHub) contains ASTM standards and AASHTO specs related to environmental issues
For MnDOT employees only. Requires one-time registration of MnDOT e-mail and a pw to access.

Sample standards in the Portal:AASHTO Cover Image

  • ASTM E2365 Standard Guide for Environmental Compliance Performance Assessment
  • AASHTO R51 Standard Practice for Compost for Erosion/Sediment Control

MnDOT and MnLRRB Research Projects
In the Category drop-down, select Environmental.

TRID - This is TRB's database of technical reports, journal articles, and research-in-progress.
In advanced search (additional filters), the Index Term field will suggest terms if you start typing a topic, e.g.  environment.

TRID logo

International Stormwater Best Management Practices (BMP) Database - This website features a database of over 600 BMP studies, performance analysis results, tools for use in BMP performance studies, monitoring guidance and other study-related publications.

Books and Magazines at MnDOT

Books:

Designing Healthy Communities

Call Number: RA566.7 .J34 2012

Cover image: designing healthy communities

 

Minnesota Noxious Weeds

Call Number: SB612.M6 H36 2017

Print and Electronic Access

 

Environmental Performance Measures for State Departments of Transportation

Call Number: TRB NCHRP 809

Report cover image

 

Other TRB reports in the library catalog

 

Search the library catalog for other books.

 

Magazines:

Environment: Science and Policy for Sustainable Development

Call Number: Magazines

Print and Electronic access via IP recognition

Cover image


Journal of Environmental Engineering (ASCE)

Electronic access via IP recognition

Cover image

 

Environmental Law Reporter - ELR's News & Analysis journal, ELR UPDATE, and ELR Online research site.

Electronic access via IP recognitionELR logo

 

Other periodicals in the Environment section of the library's magazines webpage

MnDOT Historical Information

MnDOT collection in Minnesota Reflections contains digitized publications and maps including:

  • Annual and Biennial reports 1906-1920
  • Employee newsletters 1951-1976 (post-1976 coming in 2018)
  • State highway maps 1919-2010
  • Minnesota Bikeways and other regional bike maps 1979-2001

Mn Highways cover image

 

Vertical file relating to the Environment

Reference non-circulating

 

Other history publications in the library catalog

Additional Assistance

Please contact library staff for additional assistance with the following:

  • Using the library catalog or a database
  • Tracking down an EIS
  • Obtaining a book or article that isn't available (inter-library loan)
  • Finding information for a cultural resources project

Tel:  651-366-3791

Email Us

Ask a Librarian web form

Authors & Contributors

MnDOT Library
 
 
 

 


​MnDOT Library

Moving Knowledge
Sheila Hatchell, Library Director
Jim Byerly, Electronic Resources Librarian
Karen Neinstadt, Reference and Outreach Librarian
Marilee Tuite, Reference and Digital Services Librarian

Qin Tang, Technical Services Librarian
Email Us

Tel:  651-366-3791 • 
Fax:  651-366-3789 

MnDOT Library

Mission: MnDOT Library advances your knowledge with timely, direct, and cost-effective connections to the information you need to provide the highest quality transportation systems.

Hours: M-F, 8:00 AM-4:30 PM. The Library is open to the public.

Library Location          Circulation Policy          Interlibrary Loan Policy