MoDOT Transportation Library: MoDOT History Resources
The Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) Transportation Library partners with the University of Missouri-Columbia and the Missouri State Library to provide transportation-related collection resources and research services for MoDOT staff.
Newspapers.com (must visit, or be a valid library card holder of, a library that subscribes, like Mid-Continent Public Library. Provides online access to many small Missouri newspaper titles from 1700s to 2000s)
State Library Reference Services clipping files (mostly historical and no longer current; hard copy only; library use only)
Missouri Highways – sometimes includes features on popular routes
Missouri Department of Transportation (District office) -- may have to submit a Sunshine request
Aerial images (MoDOT)
State Archives has the original negatives in canisters. However, State Archives is unable to search for, identify and view map images from negatives.
MoDOT retains copies of the digitized images (no direct access; on internal MoDOT network).
The public must contact Melvin Distler or Steve Atkinson in Design/CADD Division to make requests and will need to provide specific location information, dates, etc.
State Archives and the MoDOT Librarian have access to an aerial image inventory spreadsheet (internal use only) which lists images that have been digitized (but this may not match how MoDOT has categorized the images).
Aerial Photographs of Missouri, 1938-1979 (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service)
There should be an index map at the beginning of each county in the collection. Land coordinates would be needed to find a specific feature. To view the photos, you would need to visit the SHS-Columbia in person.
Missouri State Archives' collection of 25,000 MoDOT photographs from 1916-1965
Only about 3700 negatives have been digitized. They can be searched using a MoDOT-produced Access database (search by title/topic, date, county, route) or a State Archives-produced spreadsheet. The image files are only viewable on disc onsite at the Missouri State Archives.
Traffic Engineering Conference Proceedings (1st 1948 to date)
Available in print only. Early on, the series was sponsored by the University of Missouri College of Engineering. Currently known as TEAM conference (sponsored by MoDOT).
Where to Go For ...
Chief Engineer Monthly Reports 1967-1984 (incomplete) -- hard copy available in Missouri State Archives